We are Family–my pregnant wife, two cats and me

As I write today’s post from a 15-year-old dirt-stained orange-kaki-ish Lazy-boy recliner, Harper the cat is lying on my chest and nibbling on the drawstrings of my grey hooded sweatshirt while Harper’s brother Dylan is resting peacefully atop two blankets on the couch. And Elizabeth, who is 3 months pregnant, is sitting in her office at Rockville Presbyterian writing a sermon for Sunday on Mary’s Magnifcat from the Gospel of Luke. 

And I’m basking in the wonder of this family that I’m a part of these days. It is a blessing to have such an amazing wife and two sweet, fun adorable cats…and a baby on the way!  On Friday, Elizabeth and I went to the doctor’s office for a sonogram and we heard for the first time the baby’s heart beat. Incredible! Thump, thump, thump, thump. And in addition to seeing the head and a couple of legs, we saw (in great detail) this tiny hand with five cubby fingers waving around. As a good friend of mine would say, “It blows your mind!”  Both Elizabeth and child are healthy and the process is moving along as it should.  In 4-6 weeks we should be able to find out the baby’s sex, which is exciting.  Both Elizabeth and I rooting for a little for a boy although in the end, we’ll be happy whether it’s a boy or a girl. The most important thing to us is that the baby is healthy and Elizabeth doesn’t have any complications before, during or after birth.

While the concept of bringing a life into this world is thrilling and exciting, it’s also scary. I know people who have lost babies at different stages during a pregnancy and I’ve even ministered one couple who lost what was a healthy baby in the 9th month simply because the baby turned and got himself wrapped in the umbellical cord. Some couples, though it’s rare, have successful births and then a shortime later, lose their infant to SIDS.  I know I shouldn’t dwell too much on what could go wrong but it’s hard not to be somewhat aware of the possibility. 

I pray that God will keep me more centered in the wonder of this miracle of life that is a baby. I pray that God will not allow me to drift into the dark places of worry and fear. I pray that God will be with all three of us (and the cats too…a baby is going to be a huge adjustment for them) over these next 9 months and beyond.  I pray that God will fill the time with love, faith, strength, hope, peace and grace no matter what happens.

2 thoughts on “We are Family–my pregnant wife, two cats and me”

Leave a Reply

