A Father & Daughter

Anyone who knows me well is aware that I’m a sucker for children and youth. I’m still a pretty big goofy kid myself at the age of 32.  I’ve always loved being around kids, playing games, leading recreation, befriending and mentoring to those many years younger, teaching children and youth in Church. And I especially enjoy holding babies and making faces at them.

But finally having one of my own feels very different.  Unlike the other children I’ve held and will hold in the future, none are of my flesh and blood.  None feel like an extension of myself and my wife Elizabeth whom I so deeply love.  I feel with Katie a very deep sense of obligation, protection, nurture, and love.  Holding her this morning at 1:30 am and later this morning as we rocked back and forth in the hospital room chair filled me with a sense of wonder and awe about God’s miraculous creations.

Those tiny toes and fingers with their own unique prints are markers that she belongs to God and that her parents who were given the blessed opportunity to conceive such an amazing being is a sign that we too belong always and forever to God. 

And I will, with every bone in my body for the rest of my life, do all I can to love and nurture her as a unique and special child of God.  Like the Paul Simon tune goes, Im gonna watch you shine; Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign; So youll always know; As long as one and one is two,;There could never be a father; Who loved his daughter more than I love you.

 

 

“Father and Daughter” by Paul Simon

If you leap awake
In the mirror of a bad dream
And for a fraction of a second
You cant remember where you are
Just open your window
And follow your memory upstream
To the meadow in the mountain
Where we counted every falling star

I believe the light that shines on you
Will shine on you forever
And though I cant guarantee
Theres nothing scary hiding under your bed
I’m gonna stand guard
Like a postcard of a Golden Retriever
And never leave till I leave you
With a sweet dream in your head

Im gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So youll always know
As long as one and one is two
There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you

Trust your intuition
Its just like going fishing
You cast your line
And hope you get a bite
But you dont need to waste your time
Worrying about the market place
Try to help the human race
Struggling to survive its harshest night

Im gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So youll always know
As long as one and one is two
There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you

Im gonna watch you shine
Gonna watch you grow
Gonna paint a sign
So youll always know
As long as one and one is two
There could never be a father
Who loved his daughter more than I love you

1 thought on “A Father & Daughter”

  1. Two lucky parents and one very lucky little girl to have you and Elizabeth. She is so precious and so beautiful and captivating. And I am NOT biased, in any way!

    Thanks for sharing this time of love.

Leave a Reply

