Remembering Kathy

Five years ago today, Kathy Potts, a good friend from my youth days in the Presbytery of Sheppards and Lapsley in Birmingham, Alabama, died.  I have so many memories of Kathy who one friend and mentor described beautifully as a “life force.”  I’ll never forget the time she and I were walking down the trail, from the cabins to the dining hall, at Camp Lee in Anniston when we decided to burst out into song at the top of our lungs for everyone at the high school youth retreat to hear: “Heyyy, Heyyyy baaaabyyyy, I want to know-oh-oh if you’ll be my girllllll!!!!!”

Kathy/Cathy/Katherine/Catherine/Katie are one of the names I love most in the world because those that I’ve known have had an incredible impact in my life. It’s for that reason that I wanted to name my own daughter Katie.  For me, it’s a way of always keeping the memories of other K’s and C’s alive.

I could go on but instead I’ll refer you to another dear friend’s blog post about Kathy who speaks eloquently and true for all of us who had the blessing to know Kathy Potts.

 

Leave a Reply

