“That’s An Album Cover, Mr. Connery.” My 15.

The latest Facebook Notes Game…

The rules: Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen albums you’ve heard that will always stick with you. List the first fifteen you can recall in no more than fifteen minutes. Tag fifteen friends, including me, because I’m interested in seeing what albums my friends choose. (To do this, go to your Notes tab on your profile page, paste rules in a new note, cast your fifteen picks, and tag people in the note.)

For the purpose of this blog, just post a comment with your top 15. Here are mine:

1.Ghostbusters Soundtrack–first album I ever owned. Red cassette tape. Christmas Present, 1985. “I’m not afraid of no ghosts!”

2. Good Morning Vietnam Soundtrack– Cassette tape. Birthday present, New Years, 1989. Listened to immediately with a buddy that was spending the night at my house and my dad. Opened my world to Robin Williams and his brilliant and hysterical comedic talents (and some classics from the 60s too!). “Danang me, danang me, get rope and hang me!!!”

3. Led Zeppelin IV–7th Grade. Middle School. One of the cool, off-the-beaten track guys at school gave me his copy (also a cassette tape). Blew me away. My music taste and view was forever changed. Amazing album. Black Dog, Stairway to Heaven…Zeppelin has is one of my top 5 bands.

4. and 5. Paul Simon’s “Graceland” and Traveling Wilbury’s Vol. 1—got for my 16th birthday. My first cd’s. Simon’s Graceland is a masterpiece. Diamond on the Soles of Her Shoes and You Can Call Me Al remind me of Presbytery of Sheppards and Lapsley (Central Alabama) retreats at Gulftreat. We played and sang along with this album all the time. Traveling Wilbury’s was my first introduction to Bob Dylan, Tom Petty, George Harrison and Roy Orbison and that other guy with the fro, beard and shades. 🙂

6. Eric Clapton “24 Nights”–Double CD. Bought my freshman year of high school. The best of Clapton’s peformance at Royal Albert Hall in the 90s for a period of 24 nights. Incredible live album. White Room is amazing. Fell in love with Running on Faith.

7. Indigo Girls “Self-Titled)–stirs my soul. I was on way back from a Shades Valley Pres Youth Group Church Retreat at Covenant Mtn when I first heard those angelic and prophetic voices singing Closer to Fine. My youth leader Tom Watkins (now a minister in NC) was playing the song/album on his tape deck. I became an instant fan.

8. U2 “Achtung Baby”–The quintesential album in high school. We wore this album out singing and dancing on youth retreats. Del Trees gave me the nickname Andy “Achtung” Baby.

9. Pearl Jam “Ten”–Like Zeppelin, an album that blew me away. Changed the landscape of music. Love the haunting and passionate ballads of Jeremy and Alive. I remember how many of us who were friends (from various Presbytery youth groups) would listen to this album while playing pool and hanging out at Shawn Smith’s house.

10. Pearl Jam “Vs.” –HS and college fav, especially Elderly Woman Behind The Counter in A Small Town (one of the great song titles ever created)…”I seem to recognize your face” my college roommates sung this one a lot. We all wanted to be cool like Eddie Vedder.

11. The Beatles “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band”–always associate with the great TV show “The Wonder Years” and my high school youth leaders  (Tom, Paul John) who played tunes from the album on their guitars.

12. The Beatles “The White Album”–Introduced by my youth leaders on their guitars. “Rocky Racoon checked into his room…only to find Gideon’s Bible”

13. Grateful Dead “American Beauty”–College memory. Listened to this on every “Dead Day” ( usually Friday after exams–no class, no tests) on way to the meat and three at Hotel Talisi, 45 minutes from Auburn.

14. Dave Matthews Band “Crash”–Another college album. Also reminds me of the one and only time I saw DMB in concert, at Oak Mtn Amphitheater with S&L Presby College Summer Staff, 1995.

15. Robert Plant and Alison Krauss “Raising Sand”–beautiful album that came out a few years ago and I associate with mid 30s adulthood.

Leave a Reply

