Reverb #10-Wisdom

Dec. 10. Prompt. Wisdom: What was the wisest decision you made this year, and how did it play out?

Life, ministry, and parenthood are filled with numerous decisions that have varying degrees of impact. Sometimes the effect is immediate and other times, it takes years to see the fruits of a decision. And typically the results are what determines if the decision was a wise one or not. I suppose that the wisest decision I’ve made all year (and will continue to make) is choosing to every day to get out of bed and join in this exhilarating, mysterious, difficult, complex, joy and pain-filled experience we call life. So far, it’s panned out great. Not that there haven’t been bumps and bruises and failings along the way that have made me want to hide under the covers…forever.  But as a whole, my life has been a blessing. And that’s due not only to the work of the Creator but also to the people God has put in my life who encourage me to want to make wise decisions and be a better human being, primarily Elizabeth and Katie.  The latter is who I hope my decisions will benefit the most from my wisdom and also my foolishness–even if it’s simply learning to not make the same mistake as her dad.

As the 19th Century Scottish author and reformer Samuel Smiles once said: We learn wisdom from failure much more than from success. We often discover what will do, by finding out what will not do; and probably he who never made a mistake never made a discovery.

Leave a Reply

