Reverb #11-Eleven Things

Dec. 11. Prompt. 11 Things: What are 11 things your life doesn’t need in 2011? How will you go about eliminating them? How will getting rid of these 11 things change your life?

Today’s reverb #10 topic comes from Sam Davidson author and founder of Nashville-based Cool People Care who inspired me to write Thankfulness posts the last three years.

Here’s my list:

1. Surfing the web for 11 hours–I spend way too much time online.  Not 11 hours a day…but pretty close. And usually I’m just browsing with no real purpose, like scrolling through all of the new movie-book-cd releases on Amazon or looking at sites with silly T-shirts or looking through numerous statuses and pictures of friends on Facebook (instead of making more in-the-flesh connections). I need to take a cue from Wynona Ryder and not get tangled up in the web, which distracts me from more important and productive aspects of life like reading, writing, listening to music, sleeping, conversations with family and friends.

2. Over-reacting (high anxiety and anger)–I get so ratcheted up and heated over things that just don’t matter: a hurtful comment, a person’s mistake, someone’s attitude, a politician or media pundit’s insensitive sound byte, etc. It’s a waste of time and energy that could be better focused and spent on things that truly do matter like family and friends. I’ve got to learn to let go and move on instead of letting stuff gnaw on me till there’s nothing left.

5. Fearfulness and Worry/Doubt–goes hand in hand with the previous one. And it prevents me from taking leaps of faith and trusting more in God and those whom love me.

6. Junk food–I’m a more healthy eater than I was 10 years ago, but I still look like I’m pregnant or swallowed a bowling ball whole and never digested the sucker.  I’ve got to cut out more sugars and fats and also exercise. I can’t afford not to, especially when my 2 and half year old daughter is counting on having her daddy around for a long while.

7. Perfection–I have this notion that I’m supposed to do everything right, particularly as an ordained minister of the Word and Sacrament.  Ridiculous, no?

8. Control–I also believe that I can fix or control certain situations or people. Kooky talk, ain’t it?

9. Selfishness–It’s not always about me although I tend to think it should be. Ironically, I fail to realize how much I am blessed and do receive from others because I’m too busy thinking about stuff I haven’t received–whether in the form of a compliment or a physical gift.

10. Hate–There are some people that I can’t stand and for no good reason accept that they are different and their difference irritates the crap out of me.  I need to remember that we all have faults and ever person is a child of God, despite the choices they make. What good does it do for me to hate someone else? Sure doesn’t make my life happier. I’m just hateful.

11. Buying things I don’t need–Just because the movie was cool in the theaters doesn’t mean I need to own it. Chances are, I’m not going to watch it but once more within 5 years after the film is released.  And while books are always a good thing to have, I need to read the stacks that are sitting on my shelves at home and office before I buy new ones. Having things, even a lot of books, doesn’t make you smarter or cooler…just poorer.



2 thoughts on “Reverb #11-Eleven Things”

Leave a Reply

