Reverb #20-Beyond Avoidance

December 20. Prompt. Beyond Avoidance: What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?)

Although I’m an ENFP (Extrovert, Intuitive, Feeling, Perceiving) on the Myers-Briggs Personality Test, I’m a HUGE Introvert when it comes to talking on the phone. It’s as awkward as watching Lady GaGa’s Telephone video. I often avoid making calls because

a) I dread the awkward silence that can creep into a conversation or is there from the outset (particularly with people I don’t know very well) I never know what to say. Do I make up something like “I’ve gotta go…I mean I really gotta go..to the bathroom. Going to pee in my pants. Bye!” or “Someone just walked into my office and they look angry, talk to you later!” or “Caarraggghharrekkkshhh…I…cararghhhwarrksshhhh…think the line is…sharcarraggsshh..bad…(click)”

b) it involves a possible confrontation or me listening to someone who is long-winded

c) I fear that I’m not able to express myself or communicate as well as I do in face-to-face conversations or in writing (and as a result I typically default to email or Facebook message or cell phone texting). I stumble over my words or find that I have to repeat myself or literally spell my words sometimes. (This happens mostly with customer service technicians but ocassionally regular folks as well)

d) I don’t like getting “no” answers to questions over the phone, especially if I have to leave a message or two on voicemail and wait for the other person to return the call. The waiting drives me crazy.  Email, Facebook and texting is much more instantaneous. And if it all possible, I try to use the phone to schedule times to meet face to face rather than having to have a serious conversation on the phone.

So in 2011, I’m resolving to conquer this bout of telephone-bia. It sure would make my life more efficient if I did.


Leave a Reply

