Reverb #31-Core Story

December 31. Prompt. Core Story: What central story is at the core of you, and how do you share it with the world? (Bonus: Consider your reflections from this month. Look through them to discover a thread you may not have noticed until today.)

The common thread in my December #reverb10 reflections or the central story that gets to the core of who I am is my identity as a child of God.

A child of God who is also a husband, dad, pastor, teacher, friend, son, grandson, and son-in law. A child of God who doesn’t always get the right answers or even know the right questions. A child of God who makes plenty of messes and hurts a lot of feelings. A child of God who when knocked down, stands up and dusts himself off. A child of God who stands up for what he believes in and tries hard to follow Jesus and live out the gospel message, even at the risk of alienating others. A child of God who loves life–enjoys the intersection of faith and pop culture; relishes a hearty laugh/funny joke/goofball and-or dark-comedy/a good cuss word in the right context; reads the Harry Potter series and books on church/ministry/theology; who plays video games and collects Spider-Man comic books. A child of God who thrives off being in fellowship and relationships with others. A child of God who is passionate about youth ministry and mission work in the church.  A child of God who wants to alleviate suffering, dispel fear and crush hate with comfort, mercy, love and hope.

A child of God who is grateful to have a calling and a job, a roof over my head, food on the table, clothes on my back, good health, family and friends who love me and accept me despite all of my faults and who affirm me for my gifts and the unique individual God has created.

A child of God who has an incredible wife and amazing daughter (my very heart and soul) who keep me centered and remind me that I can do so much more to help make the world a better place when I let go of my mistakes, my guilt, my pessimism, my intolerance, my prejudice, my hate, my grumpiness, my anger and my self-centeredness.

A child of God who has had 34 wonderful years, including 2010; who is looking forward to turning 35 at the stroke of midnight; and who is eagerly awaiting 365 new days that will continue to shape and define my story.

Leave a Reply

