New Year 2012: You Say You Want A Resolution

Calvin & Hobbes by Bill Watterson, 1985-1995

Although I mostly agree with Calvin, I thought it might not hurt to at least come up with a list of resolutions that would attempt to keep me on course in 2012, and not have to “wing it” too much…

1. Be more patient and kind (particularly with Wally the wonder pup–God bless his labrador energy and God give me the strength to be more tolerant with his antics)

2. Try to not over-react to other’s words and actions, be less judgmental of others, and practice more grace toward folks

3. Read 24 books (an average of 2 per month)

4. Spend less time on the computer to read, draw, write, watch movies and play the occasional video game.

5. Learn to cook

6. Live in the moment (especially with my daughter Katie. Typically I lament how she’s growing up too fast or I wish that she was older so I don’t have to dress her or so that she and I can go ride roller coasters.”

7. Be more gentlemanly and romantic by opening doors for my wife Elizabeth, holding her hand in public, go out of my way to do things around the house, try not to leave a pee trail next to the toilet (you guys know what I’m talking about 🙂 ), and saying moronic crap that hurts her feelings.

8. Cut out the complaining and whining when Elizabeth makes a genuine and fair request of me (This goes hand-in-hand with No. 6)

9. Go camping and hiking (and maybe white water rafting)

10. Take more opportunities to build friendships

11.  Become more confident about riding a bike (and well, to be honest, become more confident about myself and my gifts in general and be ok with the failures and mistakes)

12. Go on a bike trip adventure with JB, husband of church colleague who keeps putting out an invite that I have yet committed to

That’s a fairly good start for 2012…what about you? What do you resolve to do in the next 365 days?

2 thoughts on “New Year 2012: You Say You Want A Resolution”

  1. Looking forward to spending 2012 with you, even if the pee trails continue (I can’t believe you put that on the interweb!).

Leave a Reply

