The Best Birthday Gift

I’ve received many wonderful and loving gifts over the course of 36 birthdays, including the blessing of being born on January 1 and celebrating my birth along with a new year.  Even spending New Year’s Eve with my wife Elizabeth and close friends at the Chik-Fil-A Bowl at the Georgia Dome was amazing as Auburn clobbered Virginia 43-24. But none of the gifts and memories quite compare to the moment on Friday afternoon when Katie, excited about my approaching birthday, decided to sing to me a couple of days early…

I can’t wait till later today when I get to celebrate the day with my family and share in the German Chocolate Cake that Katie, Elizabeth and Anne (aka Nana) made for the special occasion. Incidentally, when I teasingly asked if I could have a piece this afternoon, Katie smiled and gently reminded me: “No daddy, it’s not your birthday yet.”   What an amazing gift this child is in my life.

Leave a Reply

