Celebrating The Anniversary of Star Wars IV: 35 Years Ago Today, In A Galaxy Not So Far Away

In celebration of the 35th Anniversary of Star Wars IV: A New Hope, here are the 35 best quotes/pieces of dialogue (thanks to  IMDB) from the movie that became a pop culture phenomenon and inspired millions of movie-goers, filmmakers, artists …and preachers 🙂

35. C-3Po’s Disgust with R2D2

C-3PO: Don’t call me a mindless philosopher, you overweight glob of grease.

34. Han Solo’s Indifference To Chewbacca’s Sensitive Nose

Han Solo: Get in there, you big furry oaf! I don’t care what you smell!

33. Han Solo and Princess Leia’s Indifference Toward Each Other and Chewbacca’s fur

Han Solo: Look, Your Worshipfulness, let’s get one thing straight. I take orders from just one person: me.
Princess Leia: It’s a wonder you’re still alive.
[Pushing past Chewbacca]
Princess Leia: Will someone get this big walking carpet out of my way?
Han Solo: No reward is worth this.

32. Han Solo’s Greed

Han Solo: It is for *me*, sister. Look, I ain’t in this for your revolution, and I’m not in it for you, Princess. I expect to be well paid. *I’m* in it for the money.

31. Han Solo’s Cockiness

Han Solo: Not a bad bit of rescuing, huh? You know, sometimes I amaze even myself.
Princess Leia: That doesn’t sound too hard.

30. Princess Leia’s Acute Observation

Princess Leia: Aren’t you a little short for a stormtrooper?

29. Han Solo’s Pessimism 

Han Solo: Where did you dig up that old fossil?
Luke: Ben is a great man.
Han Solo: Yeah, great at getting us into trouble.

28. Obi-Wan’s Acute Observation

Obi-Wan: Your eyes can deceive you; don’t trust them.

27. C-3Po’s Formal Introduction

C-3PO: And I am C-3PO, human-cyborg relations. And this is my counterpart R2D2.

26.  Obi-Wan’s Concern

Obi-Wan: I felt a great disturbance in the Force, as if millions of voices suddenly cried out in terror and were suddenly silenced. I fear something terrible has happened.

25.  Han Solo’s Advice About Playing Games with Chewbacca

Han Solo: Let him have it. It’s not wise to upset a Wookiee.
C-3PO: But sir, nobody worries about upsetting a droid.
Han Solo: That’s ’cause droids don’t pull people’s arms out of their sockets when they lose. Wookiees are known to do that.

24. Han Solo’s Rescue

Darth Vader: [zeroing in on Luke’s fighter] I have you now!
[one of Vader’s wing-men explodes]
Darth Vader: What?
Han Solo: YAHOOO!
[the Millenium Falcon appears]
Tie Fighter pilot: Look out!
[Han fires again, the second fighter collides with Vader’s, sending him careening away]
Han Solo: You’re all clear, kid, now let’s *blow* this thing and go home!
[Luke fires, the torpedoes dive down the exhaust port; the Millenium Falcon leads the remaining rebel ships away as the Death Star explodes]

23.  Han Solo’s Trash Compactor Humor

Han Solo: One thing’s for sure, we’re all gonna be a lot thinner.

22. Darth Vader’s Desire to Have Dialogue

Darth Vader: And now, your highness, we will discuss the location of your hidden rebel base…

21. Han Solo’s Encouragement

Han Solo: Great shot, kid, that was one in a million!

20. Luke Skywalker’s Love for Tatooine

Luke: [griping about Tatooine] If there’s a bright center to the universe, you’re on the planet that it’s farthest from.

19. C-3PO’s Flair for the Dramatic

C-3PO: Listen to them, they’re dying R2! Curse my metal body, I wasn’t fast enough, it’s all my fault! My poor Master.

18. Chewbacca’s Anger

Chewbacca: Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrgh!

17. Darth Vader and Obi-Wan’s Smack Talk Before the Big Game

Darth Vader: I’ve been waiting for you, Obi-Wan. We meet again, at last. The circle is now complete. When I left you, I was but the learner; now *I* am the master.
Obi-Wan: Only a master of evil, Darth.
[lightsabers clash]
Share this quote

16. Han Solo’s Gift at Impersonations

Han Solo: [sounding official] Uh, everything’s under control. Situation normal.
Voice: What happened?
Han Solo: [getting nervous] Uh, we had a slight weapons malfunction, but uh… everything’s perfectly all right now. We’re fine. We’re all fine here now, thank you. How are you?
Voice: We’re sending a squad up.
Han Solo: Uh, uh… negative, negative. We had a reactor leak here now. Give us a few minutes to lock it down. Large leak, very dangerous.
Voice: Who is this? What’s your operating number?
Han Solo: Uh…
[Han shoots the intercom]
Han Solo: [muttering] Boring conversation, anyway. LUKE, WE’RE GONNA HAVE COMPANY!

15.  Han Solo’s Fascination with Princess Leia

Han Solo: Wonderful girl. Either I’m going to kill her or I’m beginning to like her.

14.  Han Solo’s Beliefs

Han Solo: Kid, I’ve flown from one side of this galaxy to the other, and I’ve seen a lot of strange stuff, but I’ve never seen *anything* to make me believe that there’s one all-powerful Force controlling everything. ‘Cause no mystical energy field controls *my* destiny. It’s all a lot of simple tricks and nonsense.

13. Obi-Wan’s Wisdom

Obi-Wan: [after hiding from the Storm Troopers on the Millennium Falcom] Who is more foolish? The fool? Or the fool following the fool?

12.  Princess Leia’s Grit

Princess Leia: Into the garbage chute, flyboy.

11.  A Droid’s Role

C-3PO: We seem to be made to suffer. It’s our lot in life.

10.  Admiral Motti and Darth Vader’s Disagreement

Admiral Motti: Any attack made by the Rebels against this station would be a useless gesture, no matter what technical data they have obtained. This station is now the ultimate power in the universe! I suggest we use it!
Darth Vader: Don’t be too proud of this technological terror you’ve constructed. The ability to destroy a planet is insignificant next to the potential of the Force.
Admiral Motti: Don’t try to frighten us with your sorcerous ways, Lord Vader. Your sad devotion to that ancient Jedi religion has not helped you conjure up the stolen data tapes, or given you enough clairvoyance to find the rebels’ hidden fortress…
[Vader makes a pinching motion and Motti starts choking]
Darth Vader: I find your lack of faith disturbing.
Governor Tarkin: Enough of this! Vader, release him!
Darth Vader: As you wish.

9. Obi-Wan’s Explanation of the Force

Obi-Wan: The Force is what gives a Jedi his power. It’s an energy field created by all living things. It surrounds us and penetrates us. It binds the galaxy together.

8. Han Solo’s Doubt

Han Solo: Hokey religions and ancient weapons are no match for a good blaster at your side, kid.

7.  Luke Skywalker’s Worry

Luke: I have a very bad feeling about this.

6.  Obi-Wan’s Salesmanship

Obi-Wan: These aren’t the droids you’re looking for.
Stormtrooper: These aren’t the droids we’re looking for.

5.  Obi-Wan’s sacrifice

Darth Vader: Your powers are weak, old man.
Obi-Wan: You can’t win, Darth. If you strike me down, I shall become more powerful than you could possibly imagine.

4. Obi-Wan’s Advice

Obi-Wan: Use the Force, Luke.

3.  Darth Vader’s Intuition

Darth Vader: The Force is strong with this one.

2. Princes Leia’s Message

Princess Leia: Help me, Obi-Wan Kenobi; you’re my only hope.

1. Star War’s Universal Greeting

Obi-Wan: The Force will be with you, always.



Leave a Reply

