Week Links: “Beauty”

There is a design, an alignment to cry/Of my heart to see/The beauty of love as it was made to be

–Mumford & Sons “Sigh No More” (2009)

This week, I was struck by stories and projects that captured (and even flipped preconceived notions of) beauty:

Created Equal

Seeing the beauty in all whom God has created, via the website ufunk.net, “an amazing photo project of photographer Mark Laita that focuses on the contrasts between people, the lives and cultures through beautiful portraits in black and white.”

Created-equal-laita-17

Face Transplant Recipients Goal: A Kiss 

Beauty is transcended in this moving story of Carmen Tartleton from CNN.com, pictured here with her boyfriend whom she says “was able to see me through my scars.”

130501091252-carmen-5-horizontal-gallery

Jason Collins, Chris Broussard and the Faith of the Guy in the Arena

An excellent column by colleague and writer extraordinaire, the Rev. Emily Heath, on the beautiful faith and courage of Jason Collins.  Also read Jason’s exquisite essay in this month’s issue of Sports Illustrated in which he describes how a relative saw the beauty within him since he was a child:  “The first relative I came out to was my aunt Teri, a superior court judge in San Francisco. Her reaction surprised me. ‘I’ve known you were gay for years,’ she said. From that moment on I was comfortable in my own skin. In her presence I ignored my censor button for the first time. She gave me support. The relief I felt was a sweet release.” 

Jason Collins: The Gay Athlete

“Imaginary Worlds” Gets Your Imagination Going

This preview in  The Atlanta Journal-Constitution of a new exhibit at the Atlanta Botanical Gardens shows that often seeing and imagining beauty go best together.

050313-imaginary-ba02

Phillip Council’s fan-made video of Gungor’s Beautiful Things

The chorus of the song goes: “God makes beautiful things out of dust”  ‘Nuff said.

1 thought on “Week Links: “Beauty””

Leave a Reply

